This post is also available in: 简体中文 (Chinese (Simplified))

Singapore Tourist Visa – Which Countries Require Its Citizens to Apply?

Singapore Tourist Visa

Tourists intending to visit the island state will require a Singapore tourist visa in some cases, although there are certain countries where tourists can visit the country without a visa.
In almost 80% of the countries in the world, citizens may be able to visit Singapore for a period of up to 30 or 90 days without a visa depending on their nationality. The countries which require its citizens to have a Singapore tourist visa are divided into two categories, classified as Assessment Level I Countries and Assessment Level II Countries.
The first category (Assessment Level I) consists of citizens from countries who are eligible for the electronic visa application. Visas are generally issued within 1 working day. Visa requirements do not apply to holders of non-ordinary passports from the following countries (except North Korea):

  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • China
  • Georgia
  • India
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Moldova
  • North Korea
  • Russia
  • Tajikistan
  • Ukraine
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uzbekistan

The second category (Assessment Level II) comprises of countries whose citizens must apply for a visa vignette. Visas are generally issued within 3 working days and will be attached to the holder’s passport. Eligible countries include:

  • Afghanistan
  • Algeria
  • Bangladesh
  • Egypt
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Jordan
  • Kosovo
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Mali
  • Morocco
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Palestine
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Somalia
  • Sudan
  • Syria Tunisia
  • Yemen

If you are a citizen of a country that has an APEC Business Travel Card which contains an “SGP” code which is valid for travel to Singapore, you may visit the country without any visa needed for business trips of no longer than 60 days. Countries issued with the APEC Business Travel Card are:

  • Australia
  • Brunei
  • Chile
  • China
  • Hong Kong
  • Indonesia
  • Japan
  • South Korea
  • Malaysia
  • Mexico
  • New Zealand
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Russia
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • Vietnam

Singapore Visitor Requirements

All visitors travelling to Singapore must fulfil the following criteria:

  • Hold a valid passport and valid travel documents with a validity period of more than 6 months at the time of departure.
  • Hold a valid return travel ticket.
  • Hold a Singapore tourist visa and/or yellow fever vaccination certification for entry into Singapore if applicable.
  • Must have valid entry documents (including visas) to their next destination if applicable.
  • Must complete the Embarkation/Disembarkation card provided.
  • Must have sufficient funds for their stay in Singapore.

Where to Obtain Singapore Tourist Visa Information

Singapore tourist visa application forms can be obtained for free at all Singapore overseas missions. However, this excludes non-resident High Commissioners or Ambassadors which are based in Singapore. 
Visitors who intend to come to the country can also opt to apply for a Singapore tourist visa through a local contact based in Singapore. This person will have to be either a Singapore citizen or Permanent Resident with a SingPass account.
The local Singapore contact can lodge the visa application online through the SAVE system at the website of the Singapore Immigration & Checkpoints Authority (ICA). Once your application is successfully processed by ICA, your local contact can either print a copy of the visa or collect it directly from the ICA’s office and mail it to you.
You may also download a copy of the application form here.
For more information about the list of Overseas Mission, click here.  Information regarding the requirements and procedures for a Singapore tourist visa application can be obtained directly from your nearest Mission.